Katie Katie Parsons is the creator of Mumbling Mommy and is a freelance writer, editor and communications specialist. She works from her home office on the east coast of Florida. Most often she writes about life in a combined family of five children and what it's like being a full time work-from-home parent. Feel free to pitch guest post ideas or just drop her a line at katie@mumblingmommy.com.

What is a day in my life like, you ask? Well, honestly, my days get switched up so much that we really don’t have a “set” schedule. My husband, Russ, works 12-hour cycle shift work, meaning he only works 14 days a month. He switches between days and nights, so sometimes I am home alone with the girls for four nights in a row. Anyway, here is what usually happens on a typical Tuesday:

8 a.m.: Wake up to my rooster alarm on my phone. Push snooze.

8:10 a.m.: Get out of bed, go into the kitchen and get the girls’ milk ready. Wake the girls up and hand them said milk.

8:15-8:40 a.m.: Try to get both girls ready for school. This is always a FABULOUS time in the morning where Alex (2) is screaming because she doesn’t want to take her nightgown off and Olivia (4) is fighting with me because she doesn’t want to go pee before she gets dressed for school. I usually just throw a pair of jeans on, try to brush my hair and teeth, and I’m ready to go.

8:50 a.m.: Arrive at preschool. Drop Olivia off.

9:00-11:15 a.m: This is time spent with Alex alone. We will run errands, go home and have breakfast, or she might have speech therapy at this time (but that’s usually on Friday mornings).

11:30 a.m.-noon: Pick Olivia up from school. Get home, get a snack ready for both girls, change Alex’s diaper, put them into separate bedrooms for a nap.

Noon-1 p.m.: NAP TIME! Normally it’s 2 hours, but you’ll see why it’s not on Tuesdays in a moment. I usually clean up around the house and eat lunch during nap time.

1 p.m.: Wake Olivia and Alex up from their naps. OMG, this is a terrible time of the day. Both my kids are big bears if you wake them up while they’re sleeping. But, I get lunch ready, get Olivia changed into her ballet stuff, and head out the door.

1:30-2 p.m.: Olivia has ballet. Alex and I sit in the waiting room and play.

2-3:30ish p.m.: After ballet if it’s nice we’ll head to the park to run around and play for awhile. If it’s not (like the last five months of winter) we’ll head to the library with Olivia’s BBF (and her momma).

4-5:30 p.m.: We get home. Olivia changes out of her ballet clothes and the girls play with their kitchen or dress up clothes or do something other than bother me so I can cook dinner.

5:30-6 p.m.: Dinner time, which usually consists of all four of us, but sometimes it’s just the girls and I if Russ is working. It’s also usually just Russ and I eating and the girls talk back and forth and eat a few bites. I don’t even know why I bother making dinner most days. LOL.

6:30 p.m.: Tubby time.

7-8 p.m.: Get the girls out of the tub, get dressed for bed, comb and fix their hair (which is a HUGE task for me because Russ is terrible at it and my kids hate it). We’ll usually watch a short

movie and have a snack. But other times we’ll read books or play with princesses.

8:10 p.m.: Time to brush teeth. Olivia goes pee, Alex gets a diaper change, and then we’ll lay with them in bed for a little bit.

8:30 p.m.: BEDTIME! (Sometimes the best part of the day.)

8:30 p.m. and on: I usually take this time to catch up on homework, blog, Facebook, etc. Sometimes we’ll watch a movie if we’re both not too tired. It’s nice to enjoy the peace and quiet after a long day.

Tuesdays are very hectic for us. I’ve come to the conclusion I should never schedule an activity after Olivia has preschool. She’s only 4 and still needs a nap after school. So, it’s a huge ordeal with her to make it to ballet. Next year, she’ll be going on a day when she doesn’t have school.

For my sanity.

I go to school on Mondays and Wednesdays at the moment. My classes are done on May 10th! I go pretty much from morning until dinner time both days. My week kind of looks like this:

Monday: school for me

Tuesday: Olivia’s school/ballet

Wednesday: school for me

Thursday: Olivia’s school

Friday: Alex’s speech therapy


I also worked for three months while Russ was laid off. Thankfully, I’m only working sporadically to help cover shifts for people now. I’m taking an online class for the summer semester to help get one class out of the way. I finally start my radiology program classes this fall, but with that my schedule is only going to get crazier due to clinical hours. I may be bald by the time I’m finished in 2015.


Let’s connect on social media too:

Mumbling Mommy on Facebook

Mumbling Mommy on Twitter

Mumbling Mommy on Pinterest

Category: Kids

Tags: Amy